Coronavirus (Covid-19): Latest information and advice about coronavirus please click here. For information from East Grinstead Town Council, click here. As we emerge from full lockdown, please abide by the latest government guidelines. Please see here to access information surrounding the rate of infection.

About the Council

The Town Council consists of 19 councillors who represent 7 wards. Each year the council elects from their number a Town Mayor. The Council conducts its business through four programme committees:

  • Planning
  • Public Services
  • Amenities and Tourism
  • Finance and General Purposes

The Planning Committee meets every third week. Public Services, Amenities & Tourism and Finance and General Purposes meet at least four times a year, with Council meeting at least six times a year.

The Council fulfills a positive role at the heart of the Community. It is represented by individual members, who are elected annually on a significant number of outside groups and organisations.