The Council

The Town Council consists of 18 councillors who represent 7 wards. Each year the council elects from their number a Town Mayor. The Council conducts its business through four programme committees:

  • Planning
  • Public Services
  • Amenities and Tourism
  • Finance and General Purposes

The Planning Committee meets every third week. Other Committees and Full Council meet six times a year.

The Council fulfills a positive role at the heart of the Community. It is represented by individual members, who are elected annually on a significant number of outside groups and organisations.

Council Chamber